Barons of the Sea: And Their Race to Build the World's Fastest Clipper Ship

Code: SL51011

Dates: November 1, 2019

Meets: 12:30 PM to 2:30 PM

Sessions: 1

Location: Creutzburg Center

Course Fee: $42.00

Sorry, we are no longer accepting registrations for this course. Please contact our office to find out if it will be rescheduled, or if alternative classes are available.

Barons of the Sea tells the story of a handful of cutthroat competitors who raced to build the fastest, finest, most profitable clipper ships to carry their precious cargo to American shores. Author Steven Ujifusa's previous book, A Man and His Ship, was named one of the top 10 nonfiction books of 2012 by The Wall Street Journal. His new book is in the tradition of David McCullough and Ron Chernow: a sweeping history of nineteenth century American dynasties and the battle for dominance in tea and opium trading. The journey is jam-packed with decadence, scandal, intrigue and many recognizable names, including Forbes and Delano.

Notes:

This program is part of the Smart Lunch series. Lunch is included. SCHEDULE: 12:30 PM to 1:00 PM - Lunch; 1:00 PM to 2:30 PM - Program Copies of "Barons of the Sea and their Race to Build the Fastest Clipper Ship" will be available for sale at the program. Cash, check and credit card are accepted.
Fee: $42.00

Save $9.00 with a MLSN Membership

Creutzburg Center

260 Gulph Creek Road
(in Harford Park)
Radnor, PA 19087
Map & Directions

Steven Ujifusa

Steven Ujifusa is an historian and resident of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. His second book, Barons of the Sea: And the Race to Build the World's Fastest Clipper Ship, tells the saga of the great 19th century American clipper ships and the Yankee merchant dynasties they created. Warren Delano II, maternal grandfather of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, takes center stage in the narrative. For this project, he was the recipient of a 7-week writing fellowship from the MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, New Hampshire. Barons of the Sea was published by Simon & Schuster in July 2018. In 2012 The Wall Street Journal named his first book, A Man and His Ship: America's Greatest Naval Architect and His Quest to Build the SS United States (Simon & Schuster), as one of the 10 best nonfiction books of the year. He has appeared on National Public Radio, CBS Sunday Morning, and numerous media outlets. He is a frequent contributor to the urban history website PhillyHistory.org. He is also the author of the corporate history of Airgas, Inc., and is currently working on the official history of J.M. Forbes & Company, one of the oldest independent financial services firms in the United States. A native of New York City and raised in Chappaqua, New York, Steven received his undergraduate degree in history from Harvard University and a joint masters in historic preservation and real estate development from the University of Pennsylvania. He serves on the boards of the Independence Seaport Museum and the Boys Latin Charter School of Philaelphia. He is a rowing member of the University Barge Club and a singing member of the Orpheus Club of Philadelphia. Steven resides with his wife Alexandra (a pediatric emergency room physician) and son in Philadelphia's historic Cedar Park neighborhood.

Share

Email Information to Friend Print